Darkwave.ro electro/industrial music magazine | news – reviews – interviews – concerts – festivals – parties

July 26, 2011

The Pain Machinery “Surveillance Culture” – Viva Music Album Review


 “Shine” * “Critical State” * “Never” * “Hard Cash” * “Acid Breakdown” * “The Grudge” * “The End Game” * “Grinder” * “Hell” * “Armed!” * “Surrender” * “Hate Me Now” * “Playground” * “Moving Walls

Read about “Auto Surveillance” EP on darkwave.ro here | Order the full length album “Surveillance Culture” from Complete Control Productions from here

About The Pain Machinery:

Having experimented with electronic sounds since the late 1980’s, Anders Karlsson released his first work as The Pain Machinery in 1992. The initial idea was to mix the raw energy of UK street punk and the sound exploring possibilities of electro/industrial music. Later joined by vocalist Jonas Hedberg, The Pain Machinery has continued to expand on their original formula through the years. The band, frequently described as the missing link between punk, house and EBM, has gained a lasting reputation for their intense and physical live shows around Europe. (source).

The Pain Machinery – “Surveillance Culture” – Viva Music Album Review:

Surveillance Culture” is a heavy, cursive and straightforward album, the latest release from THE PAIN MACHINERY with Complete Control Productions. With a narrative thread that speaks diligently about mind games and the illusion of freedom in civilizations kept under close scrutiny for the sake of self-taught democracy, the sound devised by THE PAIN MACHINERY on their new album is a cavalcade about broken promises, unrequited feelings, and obedience that harms the individual. (more…)

July 22, 2011

Solar Fake – “Frontiers” – Out Today July-22 – Viva Music Review

I write about things that bother me or psych me out. These are usually negative impressions or experiences. I try to enjoy all the positive things happening to me and about all the rest I’m writing lyrics.” (Sven Friedrich, SOLAR FAKE)

Tracklist: “Under the Skies” * “Why Did I Raise the Fire” * “No Apologies” * “More than This” * “Parasites” * “Such a Shame” * “Where Are You” * “The Rising Doubt” * “Pain Goes by” * “Until I’m Back” * “The Line of Sight


The German electro act SOLAR FAKE, created by Sven Friedrich (of ZERAPHINE and DREADFUL SHADOWS fame) presents a really extraordinary work with their new album, “Frontiers”. Though three years have passed since the debut album “Broken Grid” was released, followers of Sven’s musical activities have pleasantly eased their waiting with the “Resigned” E.P. (2009), by SOLAR FAKE, and the album “Whiteout” (2010), by ZERAPHINE. Due to SOLAR FAKE supporting VNV Nation on their last tour and playing several festivals, they have attracted great attention, constantly increasing their number of fans, and not only amongst ZERAPHINE’s audience. What was indicated on “Broken Grid” and “Resigned” now finds a felicitous continuation in “Frontiers”: driving beats and danceable floor fillers melt with great melodies you can’t get out of your head once you hear them. Sven’s voice is multifaceted like never before, but still it’s the element connecting all eleven tracks to a whole complete work. (source)

Read about ZERAPHINE and DREADFUL SHADOWS performing at Amphi Festival 2011 here. | Order SOLAR FAKE’s new album “Frontiershere.

SOLAR FAKE, “Frontiers” – Viva Music Album Review:

Very driving beats open up the perspective of the new album by SOLAR FAKE, “Frontiers” inside a very danceable track, “Under the Skies”. With great vocal exercise from a versatile vocalist such as Sven Friedrich, the track is memorable and not exceptionally so: the entire album provides excellent listening material. A dancefloor collectible, “Under the Skies” is closely followed on by a gem of a track, “Why Did I Raise the Fire”, the anthem texture of which intertwines straightforward electro and ineluctable industrial beats, and really makes for a great addition to any playlist. A Viva Music favorite, “No Apologies” comes up next with zest, but also with a very rewarding arrangement; to the effect that it stands out as a generous tribute to numerous red threads of our favorite music, from the music of the 1980’s to synthpop, and from electro to industrial music. (more…)

June 24, 2011

Imperative Reaction New Single “Surface” Out July-12!


Surface” * “What Is Left to Say (Club Edit)” * “Surface (Club Version)” * “Surface (Under the Surface Remix by Scandy)” * “Surface (Sebastian Komor Remix)” * “Surface (Shok’s Zeitmahl Remix)” * “Surface (Pull Out Kings Remix)” * “Surface (Rotersand Rework)”

PRE-ORDER: Order now, and we will ship this item to you when it is released on July 12, 2011.

Los Angeles based Imperative Reaction returns with the new single “Surface”. The new single features two new songs and remixes from artists Sebastian Komor, Scandy, Rotersand, Shok and The Pull Out Kings. Surface and the b-side “What Is Left To Say (Club Edit)” show IR’s mastermind Ted Phelps further refining his now signature sound. Catchy hooks and driving rhythms blend with intensely personal lyrics and anthemic choruses, turning “Surface” into a cathartic musical experience and an intriguing hint as to what Imperative Reaction have in store for the next album. (source)

Watch Imperative Reaction‘s “Surface“:

June 3, 2011

Castle Party 21-24-July: The clock is ticking!

A word from the organizers: What to expect from the largest Middle- and Eastern European fest since 1994? “One big open-air stage in the main court yard of the Castle and two smaller stages in clubs – add to that a DJ club!” And the attractions? “Concerts, of course, belly dancers, fashion shows as well as pyrotechnics“.

21-24 July 2011 – Bolkow Castle, Poland

Thursday, 21-Jul: H.EXE (Poland); Lecter (Poland); Synchropath (Poland); Monstergod (Poland); DJ Maniac (Poland)

Friday, 22-Jul (15:00hrs – Castle): Hyoscyamus Niger (Poland); Castrati (France); Smialek (Poland); The Cuts (Poland); Santa Hates You (Germany); Fixmer/McCarthy (Germany); Closterkeller (Poland); Atari Teenage Riot (Germany) (22:00hrs – Catholic Church): Other Day (Germany); (19:00hrs – Hacjenda Club): Hieros Gamos (Slovakia); DJ Einar (Poland); DJ Cute (Poland); DJ Fallen (Poland); DJ Faust (Poland).

Saturday, 23-Jul (15:00hrs – Castle): Moonlight (Poland); Freakangel (Estonia); Hetane (Poland); Blindead (Poland); Nosferatu (Great Britain); Zeraphine (Germany); Umbra et Imago (Germany); Diary of Dreams (Germany); (22:00hrs – Hcjenda Club) DJ Ekd (Poland); DJ Maslo (Poland), DJ Serafin (Poland); DJ Rafaelo (Poland).

Sunday, 24-Jul (15:30hrs – Castle): Reactor7x (Poland); Bratrstvo Luny (Czech Republic); Controlled Collapse (Poland); Dope Stars Inc. (Italy); Diorama (Germany); Suicide Commando (Belgium); Project Pitchfork (Germany);  (22:00hrs – Hacjenda Club): DJ Gothzilla (Poland); DJ Maniek (Poland); DJ Octahedron (Poland); DJ Mirage (Czech Republic). (more…)

Powered by WordPress